4 Best You Tube Channels for Music Discovery

It’s no secret I can drop like Alice into Wonderland, when I start looking up YouTube videos.  I have found 4 Channels though, that never disappoint, and bring so much music nourishment to my life.

1- Triple J

You may be tired of hearing me talk about this Australian Radio Channel on You Tube, but it is truly the best!

triplej

Their “Like a Version” series in incredible.  Here are a few favorites:

AltJ performing “Breezeblocks”

MS MR covering “Genghis Khan”

Chet Faker “Talk Is Cheap”

Mansionair “Seasons (Waiting on You)”

I love the interviews, the covers, and the original performances.  Just a great channel to subscribe to.

2- BBC Radio 1

p02lrp2x

This Channel has many performances in studio.  The list of ‘bests’ would be lengthy…but I’ll share a few links to get you started down your own rabbithole!

Ben Howard covering “Figure 8”

Ben Howard covering “Hideaway”

Maggie Rogers covering “Here’s Where The Story Ends” (ahhhh, the Sundays!!!)

Birdy covering “Fast Car”

Nina Nesbitt “Love Me Again”

You’ll wish you could get these songs downloaded!!!  And like I said, I could spend all day linking to some awesome performances.

3- KEXP Live Performances

kexp-official-logo-800

Always on point, and always a great performance.  I love watching full concerts on this channel.  If you caught my blog on Kaleo, I mentioned watching this full concert when I first found them, and was dumbfounded. Since then, I’ve watched a few other performances, and plan to tune in for more.  This is an endless cycle of music goodness, here!

Seriously….be still my heart! Kaleo Full Concert

Bombay Bicycle Club

Bonobo

4- NPR Tiny Desk Concerts

download

I first found this channel watching this Banks concert.  I love how cozy and intimate it feels.  And the performances are great.

Here is Banks…..awesome!

I loved seeing the personalities in this Tiny Concert for Sylvan Esso.

Amazed watching Alt-J!

I hope these suggestions get you started on a musical journey.  But take some time,and get lost down the rabbit hole.  I’m in awe, and found this musical thrill that has become such a vital way of feeding the soul, daily!

Feel free to comment back any channel or specific upload that you think is vital to the musical experience!

Leave a Reply

